Sunshine Anger

My heart is heavy
I got a heavy heart
Seven thousand pounds
It needs a trailer park

My eyes are sinking
I got sunken eyes
At one thousand fathoms
They depressurized

My anger is sunshine
In a medicine jar
Sunshine anger
Under the cellar door

My soul is burdened
I got a burdened soul
Neither beast nor priest
Are gonna lighten my load

My head is hanging
I got a hanging head
Up over the doorknob
Now I’m ready for bed

My frustration is sunshine
In a preservative jar
Sunshine frustration
Under garden variety star.

 

copyright©dwc2006

2 Responses

  1. I like this… it could be a song. I don’t get it, but that’s the beauty of it for me. 🙂

  2. Glad you like it! It’s one of my recent favorites as far as lyrics go–written in 10 mins., as all lyrics should be. Could be a song in a snap, and I imagine something country-ish.The meaning is simple and would probably be clearer if heard with music. It’s about being tired, depressed, angry and frustrated, yet being required to outwardly maintain a sunny disposition for various reasons.

Leave a Reply

