Factory Stereo

Summer afternoon in the parallel park
My factory stereo’s got no moving parts
With a digital source and few artifacts
From the Fiery Furnaces to Spoon and Pinback

Yeah, it’s imperfect
But it’s perfect enough for me
Yeah, it’s imperfect
But it’s perfect enough for me

Waiting on the train at the white striped gate
My factory stereo in the dashboard shakes
With mushy bass and guttural treble
From The Hold Steady to Eagles of Death Metal

Yeah, it’s imperfect
But it’s perfect enough for me
Yeah, it’s imperfect
But it’s perfect enough for me

And when I’ve lost control
Of my life and my stereo
I turn on the radio
Let Kelly Clarkson steal my soul

Summer afternoon in a traffic jam
My factory stereo passes the time
Circuits are sealed and under warranty
That’s more than we can say for Pete Doherty

Yeah, it’s imperfect
But it’s perfect enough for me
Yeah, it’s imperfect
But it’s perfect enough for me…

 

copyright©dwc2006

Leave a Reply

