Stray Behavior

A stray dog took my hand in his mouth
And clamped down hard;
His teeth stabbed two lines into my skin
With such force that I winced
Under the pressure.

This behavior seemed half out of anger
And half out of affection,
With a certain desperation that I
Had invaded his territory.

He led me through the yard
Under some trees in January,
As thunder broke the ice
And it came down sharply.

And I hoped he would release my hand
Without shaking or tearing;
But animal behavior is a mystery to man.

So with patience as he led me
I could only go along;
Then slowly he loosened his jaw
When the storm had broken apart.

He led me through the yard
Under some trees in January,
As thunder broke through the ice
And it came down sharply;
In a bluegreen flash
The dog was on the rabbit.

And a scream like a sheet of ice
Breaking on the ground
Pierced my tendons
And mauled my hand.

 

copyright©dwc2006

Leave a Reply

