Sodium

Fickle, fickle, fickle
Enthralling waxed eardrum
Come and lace my world
With sodium


Tepid into battle
Timorously triggered gun
You blast me right through
With sodium


The sea’s drying up
To the depth of my ribcage
I’m floating, absorbing minerals
Unleashed in ancient
Impact waves


Trickle, trickle, trickle
Unabashed toothless gum
Flush right through my gut
With sodium


Lift me from this quarry
Unsung opposable thumb
You pacify my thirst
For sodium


As the dead sea scrolls
To the bottom of the page
My well-preserved tissue wishes
To escape the briny
Crystalline cave…



copyright©dwc2005

Leave a Reply

